Show Form

News search

News Menu:

Sign up to our Engage eNewsletter

Press releases 2023

Dr Emma Walton wins WES 2022 Karen Burt Award for best new female Chartered Engineer

Published: 30/01/2023

The Engineering Council would like to congratulate the 2022 winner of the prestigious Karen Burt Memorial Award for the best new female Chartered Engineer (CEng), Dr Emma Walton CEng MInstP.

Dr Emma Walton was nominated for the 24th Karen Burt Award by the Institute of Physics (IOP), for her work in miniaturising the functions of an entire medical laboratory with her ‘lab-on-a-chip’. It was felt that her strong contribution to engineering along with a clear passion for her subject made her stand out as an inspiration for other female engineers to make a real difference in the world with the work they do.

Dr Emma Walton was presented with the award at the Women’s Engineering Society (WES) Caroline Haslett Lecture and Awards ceremony, held on 18 January at the Geological Society in London. Also presented at the ceremony were the Amy Johnson Award for furthering diversity within engineering, which went to Natasha Kelly, and the Men as Allies Award, given to Stephen Gill. Over 60 attendees were joined by Dr Bola Olabisi, founder of the Global Women Inventors & Innovators Network, for an evening of celebration.

The Karen Burt Award recognises the importance of Chartered status, the winner’s own contributions to excellent practice and highlights engineering to others. Nominations are made by professional engineering institutions (PEIs), who may nominate one newly Chartered Engineer per year. If you are a female CEng and would like to be considered for the award, please contact your PEI. Nomination forms will be sent direct to the PEIs by WES, but if you have any questions about the Karen Burt Memorial Award or the nomination process, please contact


​For press enquiries:

Kate Webster, Engineering Council -, 020 3206 0567

The Engineering Council holds the national Register of Engineering Technicians (EngTech), Incorporated Engineers (IEng), Chartered Engineers (CEng) and Information and Communication Technology Technicians (ICTTech). It also sets and maintains the internationally recognised standards of competence and ethics that govern the award and retention of these titles. By this means it is able to ensure that employers, government and wider society, both at home and overseas, can have confidence in the skills and commitment of registrants. For more information visit:  



  • 2023
  • Awards
  • CEng