Show Form

News search

News Menu:

Sign up to our Engage eNewsletter

Press releases 2021

Registrants recognised in the IOM3 Awards

Published: 10/06/2021

The Engineering Council would like to congratulate the registrants recognised in the 2021 Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3) Awards:

  • Medal for Excellence
    Awarded to Robin Hickson CEng CSci FIMMM, Principal Robin J Hickson LLC
  • Dowding Medal & Prize
    Awarded to Joseph Lee CEng MIMMM
  • Frank Fitzgerald Medal & Travel Grant
    Awarded to Dr Nathan Cooze CEng CSci MIMMM
  • Futers Gold Medal 
    Awarded to Prof Samuel Kingman CEng FIMMM
  • Grunfeld Memorial Award & Medal
    Awarded to Dr Edward J Pickering CEng CSci MIMMM
  • Harvey Flower Titanium Prize 2020 (retrospective)
    Awarded to Dr Thomas B (Ben) Britton CEng CSci FIMMM
  • Institute's Technician Medal
    Awarded to Bernard Donnachie IEng FIMMM
  • Ivor Jenkins Medal
    Awarded to Roger Lawcock CEng FIMMM
  • John Hunt Medal
    Awarded to Prof Peter Lee FREng CEng CSci FIMMM
  • Leslie Holliday Prize
    Awarded to Dr Faye Smith CEng FIMMM
  • Outstanding Contribution Awards
    Awarded to Mr George Lee CEng FIMMM
  • Rosenhain Medal & Prize
    Awarded to Dr Robert Lianqi Zhao Hoye CEng CSci FIMMM
  • T B Marsden Professional Medal
    Awarded to Mr Melvyn G Warrender CEng FIMMM
  • Tom Colclough Medal & Prize
    Awarded to Mr Matt Green CEng MIMMM

The IOM3 Awards raise awareness of engineering, scientific excellence and industry best practice. 

Dating back to 1874, these are prestigious accolades that celebrate individuals and organisations who have made exceptional advancements to the profession in the field of materials, minerals, and mining. This year’s award winners have been acknowledged for personal achievement, published work and outstanding contributions.

Neil Glover CEng FIMMM, President of IOM3, said: “Once again this year’s awards recognise outstanding contribution and achievement across the full range of IOM3 interests and membership. 2021 winners have all demonstrated exceptional commitment and excellence in their fields and showcase the breadth of relevance of materials, minerals, and mining in today’s world. I send my sincere congratulations to all the winners and look forward to the presentation event, which is always a highlight of our annual calendar.”

You can view the full list of winners on the IOM3 website.




For press enquiries:

Kate Webster, Engineering Council –, 020 3206 0567

Notes for editors:

The Engineering Council holds the national Register of Engineering Technicians (EngTech), Incorporated Engineers (IEng), Chartered Engineers (CEng) and Information and Communication Technology Technicians (ICTTech). It also sets and maintains the internationally recognised standards of competence and ethics that govern the award and retention of these titles. By this means it is able to ensure that employers, government and wider society, both at home and overseas, can have confidence in the skills and commitment of registrants. For more information visit: