Show Form

News search

News Menu:

Sign up to our Engage eNewsletter

Press releases 2019

Academy welcomes leading UK and international engineers as new Fellows

Published: 30/09/2019

Royal Academy of Engineering logoThe Engineering Council is pleased to see that over three quarters of new Fellows are registrants and would like to congratulate them on this significant achievement.

Fifty-four leading engineers from the UK and around the world have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Academy of Engineering in recognition of their outstanding and continuing contributions to the profession.

Five-time Formula One World Champion Lewis Hamilton has also been admitted to the Academy as an Honorary Fellow in recognition of his role in inspiring interest in engineering, especially among young people.  

All the new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at its AGM in London on Monday 30 September, and they will add their expertise to the Fellowship of nearly 1,600 eminent engineers from both industry and academia.

Professor Dame Ann Dowling OM DBE FREng FRS, President of the Royal Academy of Engineering, says: “Our Fellows are at the heart of all Academy activities and I am delighted to welcome these highly successful, creative and inspiring engineering leaders to the Fellowship. There has never been a more important time for the Academy to advance and promote excellence in engineering so that the engineering profession can continue to contribute to societal wellbeing and economic growth.”

The complete list of new Fellows for 2019 is as follows:


  • Dr Ian Barkshire FREng Chief Executive, Oxford Instruments plc
  • Professor Martin Blunt FREng Professor of Petroleum Engineering, Imperial College London
  • Professor Peter Childs FREng Head of the Dyson School of Design Engineering, Imperial College London
  • Professor Alan Cocks FREng Statutory Professor of Materials Engineering, University of Oxford
  • Professor Byron Cook FREng Director of Automated Reasoning, Amazon Web Services (AWS); Professor of Computer Science, University College London
  • Professor Jonathan Cooper FREng Airbus Sir George White Chair of Aerospace Engineering, University of Bristol
  • Professor Constantin Coussios FREng Director of the Institute of Biomedical Engineering, University of Oxford; Co-founder, OrganOx
  • Shirin Dehghan FREng Operating Partner, Frog Capital; Chair, Opensignal
  • Philip Dunford FREng Consultant Aerospace Engineer, Piasecki Aircraft Corporation
  • Professor Bridget Eickhoff FREng Principal Infrastructure Engineer, Rail Safety and Standards Board
  • John Eldridge FREng Consulting Engineer, URENCO
  • Professor Brian Ellison FREng STFC Senior Fellow and Head of the Millimetre-Wave Technology and Chilbolton Radio Group, STFC RAL Space
  • Mark Fletcher FREng Global Water Business Leader, Arup
  • Dr Luisa Freitas dos Santos FREng VP Global Clinical Supply Chain (R&D), GSK
  • Professor Alice Gast FREng President, Imperial College London
  • Professor Harald Haas FREng FRSE Professor of Mobile Communications, University of Edinburgh
  • Christopher Hamlin FREng Director, Operational Certainty Consulting, Emerson Automation Solutions
  • Gareth Hankins FREng Director and Executive Board member, Renishaw plc
  • Professor Kelvin Higgins FREng Senior Partner, Geotechnical Consulting Group LLP
  • Professor Adrian Hilton FREng Director of the Centre for Vision, Speech and Signal Processing, University of Surrey
  • Dr Gareth Hinds FREng Fellow, National Physical Laboratory
  • Graham Hughes FREng Head of Product Assurance, AWE
  • Professor Peter Ireland FREng Donald Schultz Professor of Turbomachinery, University of Oxford
  • Professor Simon Iwnicki FREng Professor of Railway Engineering and Director of the Institute for Railway Research, University of Huddersfield
  • Professor Jian Kang FREng Professor of Acoustics, University College London
  • Professor Rebecca Lingwood FREng Provost and Professor of Fluid Dynamics, Brunel University London
  • Professor Andrew Long FREng Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Nottingham
  • David Lovett FREng Managing Director, Perceptive Engineering Ltd
  • Professor G Q Max Lu DL FREng President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Surrey
  • Professor Graham Machin FREng Fellow, National Physical Laboratory
  • Dr Catherine McClay FREng Head of Future Markets, National Grid Electricity System Operator
  • Professor Vladimir Nikora FREng Professor and Sixth Century Chair in Environmental Fluid Mechanics, University of Aberdeen
  • Richard Oldfield FREng Chief Executive, National Composites Centre
  • Tony O'Neill FREng Group Technical Director, Anglo American
  • Professor Máire O'Neill FREng, Professor of Information Security, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Professor Maja Pantic FREng Research Director, Samsung Artificial Intelligence Research Centre
  • Professor Stuart Parkin FREng FRS, Director, Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics
  • Dr Fiona Rayment OBE FREng Executive Director, NIRO, National Nuclear Laboratory
  • Professor Kevin Roberts FREng Brotherton Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of Leeds
  • Leigh-Ann Russell FREng Head of Procurement and Supply Change Management, BP
  • Ronald Scott FREng Director, Metaltech Ltd
  • Dr Mark Selby FREng Chief Technology Officer, Ceres Power Ltd
  • Professor Dimitra Simeonidou FREng Chair Professor of High Performance Networks, University of Bristol 
  • Rachel Skinner FREng Executive Director and UK Head of Transport, WSP
  • Philip Smith CBE FREng Chairman, IQE PLC
  • Lila Tachtsi FREng Asset Management Director, Highways England
  • Professor Philip Torr FREng RAEng/FiveAI Research Chair in Computer Vision, University of Oxford
  • William Tunstall-Pedoe FREng Angel investor, Cambridge Angels; Advisor, Ada Health
  • Professor Dracos Vassalos FREng Professor of Maritime Safety, University of Strathclyde and Chairman of Maritime Safety Innovations Ltd
  • Professor Wen Wang FREng Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Vice-Principal and Executive Dean for Science and Engineering, Queen Mary University of London

International Fellows

  • Professor Shuji Nakamura FREng Professor of Materials and Electrical & Computer Engineering and The Cree Distinguished Professor in Solid State Lighting & Displays, University of California, Santa Barbara (UCSB)
  • Professor Jeom Kee Paik FREng Professor of Safety Design and Engineering at Naval Architecture & Ocean Engineering Department, Pusan National University; Distinguished Professor of Marine Technology, University College London
  • Professor Chai Keong Toh FREng Expert Consultant, Gerson Lehrman Group
  • Professor Jian-Ping Wu FREng Professor & Head of the Department of Computer Science, Tsinghua University

Honorary Fellow

  • Lewis Hamilton HonFREng Five-time Formula One World Champion, Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport

Profiles of all newly elected Fellows are available on the Royal Academy of Engineering’s website


For press enquiries:

Kate Webster, Engineering Council –, 020 3206 0567
Jane Sutton, Royal Academy of Engineering -, 020 7766 0736

Notes for editors:

The Engineering Council holds the national Register of Engineering Technicians (EngTech), Incorporated Engineers (IEng), Chartered Engineers (CEng) and Information and Communication Technology Technicians (ICTTech). It also sets and maintains the internationally recognised standards of competence and ethics that govern the award and retention of these titles. By this means it is able to ensure that employers, government and wider society, both at home and overseas, can have confidence in the skills and commitment of registrants. For more information visit: