Show Form

News search

News Menu:

Sign up to our Engage eNewsletter

Press releases 2024

Registered engineers and technicians recognised in the New Year Honours 2024

Published: 23/01/2024

The New Year Honours List features nine Chartered Engineers among those who have been honoured this year. The Honours system recognises the extraordinary achievements and service of individuals across the UK. The engineers included on this year’s list work in many different fields and specialisms, but they have all made outstanding contributions to the UK.

By becoming professionally registered, all Chartered Engineers (CEng), Incorporated Engineers (IEng), Engineering Technicians (EngTech) and Information and Communications Technology Technicians (ICTTech) have demonstrated their competence and commitment against an internationally recognised standard. This includes a personal commitment to professional standards, recognising obligations to society, the profession and the environment.

The Chair, trustees and staff of the Engineering Council would like to congratulate all the registered engineers who have been honoured this year including Past President of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), Professor Danielle George, on being awarded the Commander of the British Empire (CBE) in recognition of her services to public engagement in engineering and also, Vice President of the Royal Academy of Engineering, Catriona Schmolke, who has been awarded the Commander of the British Empire (CBE) for services to engineering.

Dame Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (DBE)

  • Professor Dame Molly Morag Stevens DBE CEng FRS FInstP FCGI FREng FRSC FIMMM FRSB FRPharmS
    John Black Professor of Bionanoscience, University of Oxford and Professor, Imperial College London. For services to medicine.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (CBE)

  • Mark Cutifani CBE CEng FREng FIMMM
    Chief Executive, Anglo American. For services to investment in the global mining industry.
  • Professor Danielle Amanda George CBE BSc (Hons) MSc PhD CEng FIET
    Professor of Radio Frequency Engineering, University of Manchester. For services to Public Engagement in Engineering.
  • Catriona Mary Robertson Schmolke CBE CEng FIMMM FREng
    Chief Executive Officer, Charlie Five and Vice President of the Royal Academy of Engineering. For services to engineering.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (OBE)

  • Frank Edward Bryan OBE CEng CDir MIET
    Lately Chair, Belfast Metropolitan College. For services to Further Education and the Economy in Northern Ireland.
  • Brian Andrew Palmer OBE CEng MIMechE FREng
    Founder and Chief Executive, Tharsus Group Ltd. For services to manufacturing and skills.
  • Dr Sabesan Sithamparanathan OBE CEng FREng FIET
    Founder and President, PervasID and Enterprise Fellow, Girton College, University of Cambridge. For services to innovation technology.

Member of the Order of the British Empire

  • David Alan Short MBE CEng IntPE (UK) FRAeS MIET
    Lately Group Technology Director, BAE Systems. For services to military capability.

Medal of the Order of the British Empire

  • Sukhdev Singh Phull BEM CEng MIET
    Engineer, Department for Transport. For services to Transport Technology and for charitable services through the Ekom Charity Trust.

The full New Year Honours List 2024 is available on the government’s website.


For press enquiries:   
Helen Potts, Engineering Council –, 020 3206 0568

The Engineering Council holds the national Register of Engineering Technicians (EngTech), Incorporated Engineers (IEng), Chartered Engineers (CEng) and Information and Communication Technology Technicians (ICTTech). It also sets and maintains the internationally recognised standards of competence and ethics that govern the award and retention of these titles. By this means it is able to ensure that employers, government and wider society, both at home and overseas, can have confidence in the skills and commitment of registrants. For more information visit: