Show Form

News search

News Menu:

Sign up to our Engage eNewsletter

Engineering News

QEPrize opens for nominations

Published: 06/05/2021

Nominations are now open for the 2022 Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering (QEPrize). This prestigious engineering award celebrates the critical role that engineering plays across society and honours the engineers who have changed the world through their work. Teams of up to five engineers from anywhere in the world, working in any engineering discipline, can be nominated. The winners will be awarded a cash prize of £500,000.

The QEPrize recognises engineering innovation which breaks new ground and has a global benefit to humanity. The award was previously awarded every two years, but to reflect the growing pace of engineering innovation, it is now awarded annually.

Lord Browne of Madingley, Chairman of the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering Foundation, said:

“The global pandemic has demonstrated just how rapidly the work of engineers can have a widespread and demonstrable impact on our lives. As the nature of engineering and society’s expectations of engineering continue to evolve, so too does the QEPrize. Our move to an annual award reflects this pace of change. It will enable us to celebrate the pinnacle of engineering achievement, and to honour more engineers whose work improves the lives of so many people around the world.”

Professor Dame Lynn Gladden, Chair of the QEPrize Judging Panel added:

“We want to recognise the diversity of today’s global engineering world. It is a diversity not only of individual engineers, but also of a breadth of ideas, creativity and collaboration which drive engineering forward. We encourage and welcome nominations from around the world which truly showcase the very best of contemporary engineering.”

Nominations are open until 31 July 2021. The winner or winners will be announced on 1 February next year.

For more information, including how to nominate, visit the QEPrize website.


  • 2022
  • 2021
  • Awards