Show Form

News search

News Menu:

Sign up to our Engage eNewsletter

Press Releases 2015

Two awards launched today to reward outstanding engineers

Published: 10/11/2015

Two prestigious annual engineering awards are launching their 2016 campaigns today, supported by the Engineering Council. Applications are now open for the 2016 Baroness Platt of Writtle Award and for the 2016 Hawley Award, with respective cash prizes of £1,000 and £5,000 for the winners.

The awards are presented by the Worshipful Company of Engineers through their trust fund, ‘The Engineers Trust’ (, which supports numerous annual awards and prizes to promote excellence amongst qualified engineers and those working towards registration as an Engineering Technician, Incorporated Engineer or Chartered Engineer. Shortlisted candidates for both awards will be invited to present to an award interview panel.

The Baroness Platt of Writtle IEng Award is in its fourth year in its present format and recognises the achievements of outstanding, newly registered Incorporated Engineers (IEng) across all disciplines. Candidates must be nominated by their institution, so we are asking institutions to put forward their most remarkable new IEng members and give them the opportunity to achieve this accolade and to boost their careers. Institutions can nominate up to five candidates who have achieved IEng status during 2015, and who have displayed outstanding ability to apply engineering knowledge, strength of commitment to the engineering profession, have excellent communication skills and have demonstrated managerial qualities.

The submission deadline for the Platt Award is Monday 4 April, 2016, and shortlisted candidates will be invited to attend an interview at the end of April 2016. Full details about award criteria, eligibility and where to send nominations are here: Baroness Platt of Writtle Award

Jon Prichard, CEO of the Engineering Council, says: “Incorporated Engineers make an essential contribution to all sectors of the engineering profession. Approximately 1,300 individuals achieve their IEng status every year, and through the Baroness Platt of Writtle Award, the Worshipful Company of Engineers are recognising and rewarding the most outstanding of these newly registered engineers.”

The Hawley Award is presented for the most outstanding engineering innovation that delivers demonstrable benefit to the environment. Individuals can put themselves forward for the award but must have the support of a supervisor. Entries must be based on work undertaken after graduate or post-graduate degree work and must have at least reached a stage where a prototype or a proof of concept has been developed, with the expectation of commercial implementation. Candidates must be members of a professional engineering institution and within 10 years of starting a professional career as an engineer or scientist in either academia or industry. Full details about award criteria, requirements and how to enter are here: Hawley Award

Barry Brooks, Hawley Award Co-ordinator and IET past President, says: “Every year, the interview panel is impressed by the high standard of innovative projects put forward for the Hawley Award. We are looking for original projects that are on their way to becoming commercially viable products or systems, with the potential to improve the environment.”

The submission deadline for the Hawley Award is Monday 18 April, 2016. Interviews for shortlisted candidates will be held in early May 2016. The winners of both awards will be presented with an engraved medal, certificate and cash prize at the Worshipful Company of Engineers Annual Awards Ceremony and Dinner on 19 July, 2016.


For awards information, please visit, or for further queries contact:

Barry Brooks
Hawley Award Co-ordinator
Tel: +44 (0) 796 806 3301

Peter Blair-Fish
Platt Award Co-ordinator
Tel: +44 (0)0780 815 7230

About the Baroness Platt of Writtle Award

The Baroness Platt of Writtle Award was originally established by the Worshipful Company of Engineers to recognise engineering excellence amongst those pursuing final year studies leading to the academic qualifications needed for Incorporated Engineer status.  It was awarded in this form from 2002 to 2012, with the assistance of the Institution of Incorporated Engineers and later the Institution of Engineering and Technology in selecting the Award winner. The award is limited to British citizens or those who have resided in the UK for at least five years and whose principal residence is in the UK.

About the Hawley Award

The Hawley Award for Engineering Innovation that benefits the Environment was established in 2006 by Dr Robert Hawley CBE FRSE FREng (past-President IEE, past-Chairman of Engineering Council, Engineering Technology Board and past-Master Worshipful Company of Engineers) and named after his children (Fiona and Nicholas). It is aimed at inspiring younger engineers who can best demonstrate the application of proven technology which they have developed at least to prototype stage, with an expectation of commercial development to have positive benefits to the environment. 

About the Worshipful Company of Engineers

The Worshipful Company of Engineers ( is one of the ‘modern’ livery companies of the City of London. Established in 1983, its Liverymen are all Chartered Engineers and Fellows of an appropriate professional engineering body, or Fellows of the Royal Academy of Engineering. The Engineers Trust is the Company’s charitable trust (, which promotes the development and advancement of the science, art and practice of engineering. The trust fund gives annual awards and prizes to support and encourage excellence amongst qualified engineers and those training to be Chartered Engineers, Incorporated Engineers and Engineering Technicians. For more information about other awards supported by The Engineers Trust, please follow the link: Engineers Trust awards summary