Show Form

News search

News Menu:

Sign up to our Engage eNewsletter

Engineering awards recognise talented and innovative engineers

2017 engineering awards launched to recognise talented and innovative engineers

Published: 30/11/2016

Two prestigious annual engineering awards are launching their 2017 campaigns, supported by the Engineering Council. Applications are now open for the 2017 Baroness Platt of Writtle Award and for the 2017 Hawley Award, with respective cash prizes of £1,000 and £5,000 for the winners.

The awards are presented by the Worshipful Company of Engineers through their trust fund, ‘The Engineers Trust’ ( The Trust supports numerous awards to promote excellence among qualified engineers and those working towards registration as an Engineering Technician, Incorporated Engineer or Chartered Engineer. Shortlisted candidates for both awards will be invited to present to an award interview panel.

The Baroness Platt of Writtle IEng Award is in its fifth year in its present format. It recognises the achievements of outstanding, newly registered Incorporated Engineers (IEng) across all disciplines. Candidates must be nominated by their institution to be considered for the award. Institutions can nominate up to five of their most remarkable new IEng members who have achieved the title during 2016, and give them the opportunity to boost their careers by achieving this award. Candidates should have an outstanding ability to apply engineering knowledge, a strong commitment to the profession, excellent communication skills and have demonstrated managerial qualities.

Gemma Lonsdale, 2016 winner of the Baroness Platt of Writtle IEng Award

The submission deadline for the Platt Award is Tuesday 11 April 2017, and shortlisted candidates will be invited to an interview on Tuesday 16 May 2017. To read about this year’s winner and for full details about award criteria, eligibility and where to send nominations, please visit: Baroness Platt of Writtle Award

Jon Prichard, CEO of the Engineering Council, says: “Every year approximately 1,300 new Incorporated Engineers make an essential contribution to their profession and society. The Worshipful Company of Engineers give outstanding, newly registered IEng candidates the opportunity to be recognised and rewarded for this contribution through the Baroness Platt of Writtle Award.”

The Hawley Award is presented for the most outstanding engineering innovation that delivers demonstrable benefit to the environment. Individuals can put themselves forward for the award but must have the support of a supervisor. Entries must be based on work undertaken after graduate or post-graduate degree work and must have at least reached a stage where a prototype or a proof of concept has been developed, with the expectation of commercial implementation. Candidates must be members of a professional engineering institution and within ten years of starting a professional career as an engineer or scientist in either academia or industry.

David Cooper, Hawley Award Co-ordinator, says: “We are looking for original projects that are on their way to becoming commercially viable, with the potential to improve the environment. The interview panel is always impressed by the innovative projects submitted for the award and we look forward to seeing this year’s entries.”

Solveiga Pakštaitė, 2016 winner of the Hawley Award

Full details about award criteria, requirements and how to enter, along with details of the 2016 winner, can be found by following this link: Hawley Award. The submission deadline for the Hawley Award is Tuesday 18 April 2017. Interviews for shortlisted candidates will be held on 3 or 4 May 2017.

The winners of both awards will be presented with an engraved medal, certificate and cash prize at the Worshipful Company of Engineers / Engineers Trust Annual Awards Ceremony and Dinner on 18 July 2017.


Picture captions L-R: Squadron Leader Gemma Lonsdale, winner of 2016 Baroness Platt of Writtle Award; Solveiga Pakštaitė, 2016 winner of the Hawley Award

@HawleyAward @EngCouncil  

For press enquiries and image requests:        

Lucie Richards,

Engineering Council:                              +44 (0) 20 3206 0560

For awards information, please visit, or, for further queries contact:

David Cooper,

Hawley Award Co-ordinator:                   +44 (0) 771 783 2426

Peter Blair-Fish,

Platt Award Co-ordinator:                       +44 (0) 0780 815 7230


Notes for Editors:

The Baroness Platt of Writtle Award was originally established by the Worshipful Company of Engineers to recognise engineering excellence amongst those pursuing final year studies leading to the academic qualifications needed for Incorporated Engineer status.  It was awarded in this form from 2002 to 2012, with the assistance of the Institution of Incorporated Engineers and later the Institution of Engineering and Technology in selecting the Award winner. The award is limited to British citizens or those who have resided in the UK for at least five years and whose principal residence is in the UK.

The Hawley Award for Engineering Innovation that benefits the Environment was established in 2006 by Dr Robert Hawley CBE FRSE FREng (past-President IEE, past-Chairman of Engineering Council, Engineering Technology Board and past-Master Worshipful Company of Engineers) and named after his children (Fiona and Nicholas). It is aimed at inspiring younger engineers who can best demonstrate the application of proven technology which they have developed at least to prototype stage, with an expectation of commercial development to have positive benefits to the environment.

The Worshipful Company of Engineers ( is one of the ‘modern’ livery companies of the City of London. Established in 1983, its Liverymen are all Chartered Engineers and Fellows of an appropriate professional engineering body, or Fellows of the Royal Academy of Engineering. The Engineers Trust is the Company’s charitable trust (, which promotes the development and advancement of the science, art and practice of engineering. The trust fund gives annual awards and prizes to support and encourage excellence amongst qualified engineers and those training to be Chartered Engineers, Incorporated Engineers and Engineering Technicians. For more information about other awards supported by The Engineers Trust, please follow the link: Engineers Trust awards summary

The Engineering Council holds the national registers of Engineering Technicians (EngTech), Incorporated Engineers (IEng), Chartered Engineers (CEng) and Information and Communication Technology Technicians (ICTTech). It also sets and maintains the internationally recognised standards of competence and ethics that govern the award and retention of these titles. By this means it is able to ensure that employers, government and wider society, both at home and overseas, can have confidence in the skills and commitment of registrants. For more information visit: