Show Form

News search

News Menu:

Sign up to our Engage eNewsletter

Engineering News

IMechE Prestige Awards open for nominations

Published: 25/03/2022

The International Register of Engineering Technologists (IntET) was launched in 2003 by the Engineering Technologists Mobility Forum (ETMF). In 2012, the ETMF was renamed the International Engineering Technologist Agreement (IETA).Nominations are open for the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE) Prestige Awards 2022. These awards celebrate the achievements of those in academia and industry who have advanced the discipline of mechanical engineering.

Previous winners include Professor Ahmed Kovacevic, who won the James Clayton Prize for his outstanding contributions in the field of Fluid Machinery, and Jude Pullen, who received the Alastair Graham-Bryce Award for his outstanding contributions to numerous educational STEM projects for children and adults alike.

The IMechE is one of 39 professional engineering institutions (PEIs) licensed by the Engineering Council to assess candidates for professional registration, and monitor registrants’ conduct and continuing professional development.

Chief Executive at IMechE, Dr Alice Bunn, said:

“Our annual IMechE Prestige Awards are a wonderful way to celebrate the engineers who have worked tirelessly to improve the world through their craft. At the Institution, we recognise individuals, and groups, who encourage innovation and make an impact in this industry. Make sure you send through your nominations!”

The six awards within this category are:

  • Alistair Graham-Bryce Award is awarded to an individual or group who has made a significant contribution to the encouragement of young people towards a career in engineering.
  • Award for Risk Reduction in Mechanical Engineering recognises any eminent engineer who has contributed most to the understanding and/or reduction of risk in any area of mechanical engineering.
  • James Clayton Prize is awarded for exceptional contribution to mechanical engineering and related science, technology, and invention.
  • James Watt International Gold Medal recognises an eminent engineering who has attained worldwide recognition in mechanical engineering in any direction science and research, invention, or production.
  • Thomas Hawksley Gold Medal & George Stephenson Gold Medal is awarded for the best original papers published by the Institution during the past 12 months.
  • Verena Winifred Holmes Award (previously known as the Equality and Diversity Award) recognises those individuals who have achieved by undertaking a unique challenge or experience, perhaps to benefit people from groups with different needs, or with a past record of disadvantage or low participation.

You can nominate someone, or yourself, by completing and submitting the application form for your chosen Prestige Award. Details are available on the IMechE website.

The IMechE has a range of different awards. See the others on the IMechE’s Awards page.