Show Form

News search

News Menu:

Sign up to our Engage eNewsletter

Engineering News

Celebrating engineering innovation – QEPrize nominations open

Published: 25/05/2022

Prince Charles giving a gold trophy to Shuji Nakamara. Both men are wearing suits & ties. The trophy is an elaborate gold pattern, it looks like a computer motherboard.Nominations are now open for the 2023 Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering (the QEPrize).

The £500,000 prize is the world’s most distinguished engineering accolade. The QEPrize can be awarded to up to 10 engineers responsible for a bold, groundbreaking engineering innovation of global benefit to humanity.

Awarded annually, the QEPrize exists to celebrate the critical role that engineering plays across society, and to honour the engineers who have changed the world through their work. The prize celebrates engineering’s visionaries, inspiring young minds to consider engineering as a career choice and to help to solve the challenges of the future. The prize also encourages engineers to help extend the boundaries of what is possible across all disciplines and applications.

2023 marks the 10th anniversary of the prize, which is administered by the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering Foundation. Over the past decade the award has honoured 20 eminent engineers whose innovations have affected billions of lives. This year there is an extra emphasis on encouraging a diverse range of nominations that truly epitomise excellence in engineering.

Previous winners of the QEPrize include:

  • Dr Masato Sagawa for the sintered neodymium-iron-boron permanent magnet, 2022
  • Professor Isamu Akasaki, Professor Shuji Nakamura, Professor Nick Holonyak Jr, Dr M George Craford and Professor Russell Dupuis for LED lighting, 2021
  • Hugo Fruehauf, Dr Bradford Parkinson, Richard Schwartz and Professor James Spilker for the Global Positioning System, 2019
  • Eric Fossum, George Smith, Nobukazu Teranishi and Michael Tompsett for digital imaging sensors, 2017
  • Dr Robert Langer for controlled drug release large molecule drug delivery, 2015
  • Marc Andreessen, Sir Tim Berners-Lee, Vinton Cerf, Robert Kahn and Louis Pouzin for the Internet and World Wide Web, 2013

The QEPrize accepts nominations from anywhere in the world. The only limitations are that self-nomination and posthumous nominations are not allowed. Nominations close on 15 July 2022 and the winner, or winners, will be announced on 7 February 2023.

To find out more and nominate, visit:


  • 2022
  • Awards