Show Form

News search

News Menu:

Sign up to our Engage eNewsletter

Engineering Council welcomes new Board Members

Engineering Council welcomes new Board Members

Published: 27/09/2016

The Engineering Council’s welcomed three new Board Members at the Annual General Meeting in June:

Dr Scott Steedman CBE CEng FICE FREng FRSA is a Fellow of St Catharine’s College, Cambridge. He was lecturer in Engineering at Cambridge University for seven years before moving into industry roles including as Director of Engineering at Sir Alexander Gibb & Partners Ltd, Director of Civil Engineering at WhitbyBird and Director of Group Strategy at High Point Rendel. Scott was Consultant to the US Army Corps of Engineers for 20 years and a non-executive member of the Board of the Port of London Authority until 2015. Since 2012 he has been Director of Standards at BSI, responsible for the UK National Standards Body. Scott wished to join the Engineering Council Board because he is committed to the transformation of the engineering sector in terms of innovation capability, use of knowledge and improved professional development.
Stephen Catte CEnv IEng HonFSOE is a Mechanical Engineer in the water industry, in the role of Wastewater Treatment Standards Manager. He was keen to join the Engineering Council Board to support the engineering profession and his institution, the Society of Operations Engineers (SOE).
Col George Marsh OBE CEng CETD CEng FCE FInstRE has spent most of his career with construction company Galliford, including ten years as CEO, and subsequently working as a non-executive Chairman of a number of construction businesses. He has served on various committees for the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) and regional industry bodies and has particular interests in sustainability, skills and best practice in construction. Formerly Chair and Pro-Chancellor of Coventry University, George also served in the Territorial Army Royal Engineers for 30 years and is Vice Lord-Lieutenant of the West Midlands. He is currently a member of the Professional Review Panel of the Institution of Royal Engineers and wished to contribute to the Engineering Council as the Group C institutions’ representative, following a career-long involvement in professional engineering institutions.

The Engineering Council would like to sincerely thank Yvonne Baker CEng MIChemE, Professor Raymond Clark OBE PhD CEng CEnv Hon FSEE HonFRPS HonFSE and Alan Fitzpatrick CEng CEnv FSOE for their contribution on the Board of Trustees.