Show Form

News search

News Menu:

Sign up to our Engage eNewsletter

IET Apprentice and Technician of the Year Awards

Deadline approaching for IET Awards

Published: 17/05/2016

The deadline to receive nominations for the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) Apprentice and Technician of the Year Awards is 5pm (BST) on 27 May 2016.

The three award categories are for an apprentice, a technician and an Armed Forces technician to recognise the excellent contribution they make to engineering or technology and to engineering organisations. Alongside a trophy, each winner receives a cash prize of £1,000 and two years’ free membership of the IET. The apprentice prize also includes payment of the technician professional registration application fee, when they are ready to apply.

The IET Technician of the Year award is given to an individual who has registered as an Engineering Technician (EngTech) or Information and Communications Technology Technician (ICTTech) within the last two years, and who has provided an exceptional engineering contribution in developing a product, service or process or the completion of a project.

The Armed Forces Technician of the Year award is for a current serving member of the UK Armed Forces who has demonstrated exceptional commitment to engineering or technology through their technical or professional development. The Apprentice of the Year prize is given to an individual in at least the second year of an IET Approved Apprenticeship scheme, who has made significant contributions towards their employer or operational area.

The 2016 shortlisted applicants will be invited to The IET Achievement Awards Ceremony, which will take place in London in November 2016. Winners will be announced at the ceremony. For more information on how to apply or nominate, please visit the IET website

Among the numerous other prizes and medals to be awarded at The IET Achievement Awards Ceremony is the Mensforth Manufacturing Gold Medal. This is given to a person making an outstanding contribution to the advancement of manufacturing engineering technology or manufacturing management. It is awarded without restriction regarding nationality, country of residence or membership of the IET. Individuals do not need to be an IET member to make a nomination or be nominated. More information about candidate criteria and nomination forms are available here