About the Board

The Engineering Council is governed by a 22 member Board of Trustees, who are appointed in accordance with our Bye-Laws. 15 are appointed to represent the professional engineering institutions, and 7 are appointed by the EngineeringUK to represent industry.

About the Chairman


RAdm Nigel Guild CB CEng FREng FIET FIMarEST MIMA was elected Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Engineering Council on 19 May 2011. He has been an active member of the Engineering Council Board since 2005, and Chairman of the Finance, Audit and Remuneration Panel (FARP).

Following a career in the Royal Navy spanning more than 40 years, Rear Admiral Guild retired in 2009. His naval career began in 1966 and he read engineering at Trinity College, Cambridge. A Weapon Engineer Officer, he served at sea in HM Ships HERMES, EURYALUS and HMS BEAVER and on the staff of Flag Officer Sea Training. His shore appointments were mainly in the Procurement Executive, culminating in service on the Admiralty Board as Controller of the Navy. Rear Admiral Guild’s final appointment was as Senior Responsible Owner for Carrier Strike, in the Ministry of Defence. At the same time, he also held the post of Chief Naval Engineer Officer.

A Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology (IMarEST), Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), Institute of Mathematics and its Applications (IMA) and City & Guilds Institute, Rear Admiral Guild is the immediate Past-President of IMarEST. Since October 2009 he has also been Chairman of the Board of Atlas Elektronik UK Ltd.

Board Members

  • RAdm Nigel Guild CB CEng FREng FIET FIMarEST
  •  Institute of Marine Engineering, Science & Technology
  • Mr William Kemp MBE CEng FICE FIHT MHKIE
  •  Institution of Civil Engineers
  • Mr Doug Alexander 
  •  EngineeringUK
  • Ms Yvonne Baker CEng MIChemE
  •  EngineeringUK
  •  Jane Cannon CEng FIET
  •  EngineeringUK
  • Prof Ray Clark OBE CEng CEnv HonFSEE
  •  Group C Institutions
  • Col Martin Court CEng FIMechE
  •  EngineeringUK
  • AVM David Couzens CEng FIMechE FRAeS
  •  Royal Aeronautical Society
  • Mr Paul Excell CEng FBCS MIET
  •  EngineeringUK
  • Mr Alan Fitzpatrick CEng CEnv FSOE
  •  Society of Operations Engineers
  • Dr David Gooch CEng FIMMM
  •  Institute of Materials, Minerals & Mining
  • Miss Carolyn Griffiths CEng FIMechE FREng
  •  EngineeringUK
  • Mr Nigel Hendley CEng MICE MCIWEM
  •  Group B Institutions
  • Mr David Hughes CEng FIMechE FCIBSE
  •  Chartered Institution of Building Services Engineers
  • Mr Paul Jackson CEng FIET
  •  EngineeringUK
  • Miss Sam Hubbard IEng MIET
  •  Institution of Engineering and Technology
  • Prof Andrew McGettrick CEng FBCS FIEE
  •  BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT
  • Prof Roger Plank CEng FIStructE MICE
  •  Institution of Structural Engineers
  • Mr Tom Ridgman CEng FIET
  •  Institution of Engineering and Technology
  • Prof Jonathan Seville CEng FIChemE FREng
  •  Institution of Chemical Engineers
  • Mr Rob Smith CEng FIMechE
  •  Institution of Mechanical Engineers
  • EUR ING Prof Simon Vaitkevicius CEng MIED
  •  Group B Institutions


Rear Admiral Nigel Guild


Follow Us on:

Follow us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterFollow us on LinkedInFind us on YouTube

Engineering Council
246 High Holborn

T: +44 (0)20 3206 0500
F: +44 (0)20 3206 0501

Contact Us